Contact Us...

If you have questions about the information posted below, send an email to the Comal County office of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service at or call (830) 620-3440. View the web site:

4-H Exchange Club

From 2010 to 2013 Comal County 4-H resurrected the Exchange Club to offer a unique opportunity to Comal County 4-H’ers. While a year was taken off due to lack of participation, the Exchange Club would like to start up and try again. Here’s a brief synopsis of what the Exchange Club has done in recent history:

For 2010-2011 we partnered with Meeker County, Minnesota and in 2012-2013 we partnered with Oxford County, Maine. The first summer of the two-year partnership the Comal County group hosts the partner county, taking them to area points of interest. From Schlitterbahn, the Alamo, and the Coast, to the Bob Bullock Museum, the King Ranch, and peach-picking in Fredericksburg, the club always has a full and fun schedule. The following summer the group travels to the partner state and is treated to their area points of interest. For example, in Minnesota, the group experienced the Mall of America, National Eagle Center, Amish culture, a dairy farm, and the Twins Stadium. In Maine, the group went lobster fishing, toured an historical lighthouse, experienced the drive going up Mt. Washington, and toured Bath Iron Works.

Who is eligible to participate in the Exchange Club, and what are the requirements?

1.  4-H’er must be in 7th through 11th grades.
2.  4-H’er must have been in 4-H for at least 2 years
3.  4-H’er must have previously completed a quality recordbook. If they have not, they     may still participate if they commit to completing one the summer of 2015 and the summer of 2016. Assistance will be given to those who are new to completing a recordbook.
4.  4-H’er agrees to the 2-year commitment to complete hosting and traveling and participating fully in all fundraising efforts. 4-H’ers may not enter in the middle of an exchange.
5.  4-H’er must complete a 4-H Exchange Application and return it to the Extension office with a $100 deposit.

If you’re interested in learning more, please come to the Comal County 4-H Exchange Club informational meeting on Friday, December 5th at 6:00 p.m. in the Extension Meeting Room.

New 4-H Club Has Started!

Welcome to our newest 4-H club – The Servants. They meet on the 3rd Wednesday of each month at 3:30 p.m. at New Braunfels Christian Academy, under the direction of Club Manager Tiffany Soechting.   WELCOME!

4-H Google Calendar

Close to Home One Day 4-H Project


Comal County 4-H supporters gathered at Cooper’s BBQ in September to discuss topics regarding 4-H events and culture. Much of the conversation focused on getting Comal County 4-H members and parents together in harmony and promoting the program. Items discussed relating to county unity and 4-H promotion included the car decal and yard sign fundraiser initiated by Carolyn Phelan that recently wrapped up, 4-H Fun Day planned by Council Officers for November 15th, county-wide family 4-H day planned for Spring under the guidance of Kellie Smith, and then a major effort to have unified Comal County 4-H representation at Texas 4-H Roundup next June. Upcoming events that will require major effort from the county are the 4-H Livestock Show in December and our responsibility for the Comal County Junior Livestock Show Association (CCJLSA), which is decorating for the Gala on January 31, 2015. Should anyone wish to lend their time and talents to organizing Texas 4-H Roundup county unity, 4-H Livestock Show, or CCJLSA Gala efforts, please contact the Extension office at 830-620-3440.

Saddle Slappers' October Meeting

Saddle Slappers 4-H Club met on October 6th with 60 people in attendance (30 members, 10 parents/ adults  and 10 guests). The program, Opportunities in the Texas 4-H Horse Project, was presented by Equine Ambassadors Grace Buschfort and Ashley Fuqua. 
 They talked about the many aspects of the 4-H horse project and how to get involved in each area. Ashley and Grace also gave an overview of the Equine Ambassador program.

Community Service: Saddle Slappers members cleaned Hancock Trails at Canyon Lake for our One Day 4-H. Saddle Slappers is also participating in the Two Hands Two Cans community service.

Saddle Slappers will be holding an English Riding Clinic on November 16th (place to be determined). Another new regular program being offered is roping clinics on Wednesday evenings given by Jeff Oliver.

Our next meeting is November 3rd at 7 p.m. in the Extension Meeting Room. Our program will be Hands On Horses.

Submitted by: Ashley Fuqua, Reporter

Natural Resources Program Updates

The following bullets are reminders and updates of programs coming from the 4-H Natural Resources Office:
- Shooting Sports Muzzleloading Coach Training - November 22-23 at the 4-H Center, registration deadline is coming up November 6th.
- Wildlife Habitat Education Project (WHEP) Practice Contests are set in Dallas - December 13th, and Richmond - January 10th
- D-6 Wildlife Challenge and Natural Resources Training in Fort Stockton, November 8-9; open registration to anyone in the state, deadline is October 31st
- 2015 Shooting Sports Texas Team Application (for the 2015 National Invitational) registration closes November 13th
- 4-H Archery Camp - January 23-25, 2015 - at the Texas 4-H Center; registration opens December 11th

Click on the flyers below to enlarge them!